Essay Competition


PSA Women and Politics Specialist Group

Undergraduate Essay Competition 2015

1st Prize £150

2nd Prize £75


To enter:

Lecturers should send their ‘best’ gender and politics undergraduate essay (max 3,000 words) to:

Dr. Fran AmeryUniversity of Bath (

NB: Student must not independently send their essays



 The PSA Women and Politics Specialist Group is proud to announce our 2014 undergraduate essay competition winners:

1st Prize: Ellen Friend (University of Bristol) ‘Hunting Witches: Media Representations of “Non-Compliant” Woman MPs’

2nd Prize: Rhian Williams (University of Leeds) ‘To what extent is Butler’s account of gender performativity helpful for understanding contemporary feminist politics?’

For more details click here.

Congratulations to our winners!



2013 winners: 

1st prize: Jessica Firth (University of Edinburgh) Does the Rise of the Global Sex Industry Represent Progress or Failure for Feminism?

2nd prize: Daniela Filipa Martins Cabral (Queen Mary, University of London) Can women ever benefit from emphasising their difference to men?

2012 winners:

1st: Rebecca Tildesley (University of Bristol) To what extent does Prime Minister’s Questions marginalise women because of its highly masculinised form?

2nd: Emily Hazell (UWE) Is feminism a comprehensive ideology

2010 winner: Alexandra Hurcikova (University of Edinburgh)

2009 winner: Peter Allen (Queen Mary, University of London)

2008 winners: Naomi Ralph (University of Edinburgh), Sara Ansari (Queen Mary, University of London), Peg Murray Evans (University of Sheffield)

2007 winner: Charlotte Coles (University of Edinburgh)

2006 winner: Catherine MacDonald (University of Edinburgh)

2005 winner: Lorna Robbins (University of Bristol)

2004 winner: Christina Eason (University of Manchester)